Carnival!

Carnival Records Malvern

I spotted this clever poster in a record shop called Carnival Records in Great Malvern last year. Read about this great shop, doing old and new vinyl, on the site. It made me think back to my first record. If we don’t count badgering parent to buy us a single type purchases, then I think the first was probably a second-hand album on the Wing label, documenting the American Gemini space mission via recordings of the crew and launch station!  The first rock single I would own up to was Frigid Pink’s heavy cover of House Of the Rising Sun…

About simon robinson

Having worked as a designer mostly in the music industry, and mainly in the reissue sector, I now concentrate on the design and publication of books about popular culture - and even write some of them.
This entry was posted in Record shops and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Carnival!

  1. …applause resounds from the antipodes….

  2. Tom Dixon says:

    Once again, you have got the old grey cells in turmoil! I know my first single was ‘Glad All Over’ by the Dave Clark Five… A badger parents purchase so I could use my Mother’s knitting needles to drum along! Similarly the first album was a badger ( or should that be a bear!)… The Jungle Book soundtrack, after seeing the film on it’s initial release. Now I am feeling really old! Rock wise, the first single was the Sweet (for the b side) & the first album Fireball… The rest, as they say, is history.
    Thanks as always for your interesting, informative & memory jogging site.

Leave a Reply

